How a (gleeky) TV show changed my life

When I was little my family used to always make fun of me because I had what they called an “obsessive personality.”  I do not disagree with them because I get very hooked on specific TV shows, movies, bands, songs, foods, anything at a time.  However, one of my favorite TV shows and biggest obsession periods was the TV show Glee.

Glee is probably one of the dorkiest TV shows and that is exactly why I love it.  I first fell in love because it was a light-hearted funny show based on music…what wasn’t to love?  However, the show came out right when I was in middle school and my view on the world was expanding.  People quickly went from saying “that’s dumb” or “that’s stupid” in elementary school to “that’s gay” or “that’s retarded” in middle school and I HATED IT. I still do.  I could never really convince people that it wasn’t the nicest things to say, so I kind of kept to myself on the issue for a little while until this one episode inspired me to stand up to whoever said these harmful things.  One Tuesday night I was watching my favorite TV show and one of the characters said to one of the gay characters that something was “faggy.”  The dad quickly overheard and gave one of the greatest television speeches I have ever heard about this derogatory and exclusive language.  The video can be seen here.

This really opened my eyes to even though people are saying they don’t mean anything bad by saying “that’s gay” or “that’s retarded” they still are putting a negative connotation with words that should not have any negative connotation with them at all.  It creates a sense of superiority that is unnecessarily cruel and offensive.  This happened very early on in the show and it really opened the character’s eyes as it opened mine.  The show continued to tackle social issues, and, though it is heavily dramatized at times, it really sparked a fire in me to say “hey, judging others is not right!”

Because let’s be honest, what if the roles were reversed? Say in some parallel universe being a straight white male was the minority and it was treated as though it was a “disability” or a “handicap” rather than just a regular part of that person’s life?  What if people said “That’s so straight”?? Sounds pretty dumb doesn’t it? So why do people go around wasting breath with hateful and exclusive language?

I hope this is a fad that dies out, fast.

So, to all of you out there who get (lovingly)picked on by your family for loving a TV show, know that there is a chance it can change your view and outlook on the world and shape your life forever! Thanks Glee!!!

One thought on “How a (gleeky) TV show changed my life

Leave a comment