“It’s a No from me”

I was asked “does leadership come from a yes or a no?”simon-cowell

Not gonna lie, at first I wanted to pick no because I wanted to stand out because I feel like a majority would answer yes. However, this goes along with exactly why I say leadership comes from a no.

A large part of being a leader is being a role model.  This includes being able to stand up for what you believe is right.  You should want to be different from the crowd and have your own voice be heard.  This comes from saying “No.”  No should not be seen as something negative, because a large part of having a positive life and impact is getting rid of the negatives in your life.  So, in order to have a positive impact on those around you, you need to be able to say no to the negatives.  For example: Say no to conformity, say no to your fears, say no to the bad influences in your life, say no the negativity.

You can never truly have a “yes” if you don’t at first, have a no.  You can’t say yes to the positives in life if you are stuck focusing on the negatives.

Living the lifestyle of positivity will give you the opportunity to set yourself up to be a better leader than before.  You will be able to have a positive influence on the people around you and spread smiles.

This is a mentality I hope to embrace.  I want to complain less and say no to the things that are not necessarily the best influences on me.  Saying no may be hard sometimes but I think in the end it will be worth it because the reward will be me becoming a better person and having a better influence on the world and people around me.

 

Leave a comment